Skip To Main Content

Toggle Close Container

Mobile Main Nav

Mobile District Nav

Toggle Schools Canvas

Mobile Translate

Schools Canvas Container

Header Holder

Header Top

Header Bottom

Horizontal Nav


Interior Fixed Image

Banner Courthouse

Second Step

Second Step and the Indiana Employability Skills Standards 

The Indiana Employability Skills Standards provide students with support and preparation for the ever-changing needs of today’s workforce beginning in kindergarten and progressing through grade twelve. The standards are based on the National Employability Skill Standards from the Office of Career, Technical, and Adult Education (OCTAE), the Indiana Department of Workforce Development’s Employability Skills Benchmarks, the Governor’s Work Ethic Certificate, and the Indiana Department of Education’s Social Emotional Learning Competencies. The standards are arranged within four key areas: Mindsets (M), Work Ethic (WE), Learning Strategies (LS), and Social and Emotional Skills (SE) (IDOE, 2019).

The Indiana Employability Skills Standards are supported through grade-level curriculum maps and a selection of curriculum materials to support these maps, including Second Step Elementary.

employability skills

Kindergarten Second Step

Grade 1 Second Step

Grade 2 Second Step

Grade 3 Second Step

Grade 4 Second Step

Grade 5 Second Step